Tag of July 2013

Tag of July 2013

This is my inspiration from Tim Holtz’s July Tag of 2013. It turned out to be more inspiring that I have ever imagined.  This art journal page uses elements and techniques that Mr. Holtz explains and uses on his website and blog.

I had to improvise the mini brayer method and use a plastic bottle instead to roll the ink onto the paper.

I also tried to speed up the drying on the distress rock candy crackle paint but I got some odd bubbles instead of cracks because the outside of the glue dried before the inside.  The very think layers of the distress rock candy crackle paint did crackle however thicker areas did not and gave me a different look to my cut outs.

I last used distress rock candy crackle paint back in 2011 when I took the Chemistry 101 class.  After the class had ended I had made myself a cover for a journal. However I never finished it up. While making the piece for the tag I also decided to finish up my journal cover. I decided to use it as an art journal for myself.

It is my plan to add a tutorial for the  journal page.  I will get the tutorial linked to this site when I get the chance to finish editing.

Here my finished cover of the journal.
distress rock candy crackle paint art journal

To see how I made this journal please click here.

Thank you so much for looking, stay crafty. =^_^=

Leave a Reply

