The Awesomeness of Distress Rock Candy Crackle Paint

distress rock candy crackle paint art journal

This is a journal that I started quite sometime ago and I was recently reminded just how fun and awesome distress rock candy crackle paint really can be and I was inspired to finish up this journal and share how it was created. You can click on the pictures  to get a closer look.

Begining BoBunny 6x6 canvas and chipboard binder.

I started with my handy dandy craft sheet from Ranger  (This is one my most favorite tools), a BoBunny Chipboard and Canvas 6×6 Binder, ink blending tool and  Tim Holtz’s Distress Rock Candy Crackle Paint. Also a few items that are not show like various colors of Distress Stains, Glossy Accents, red ribbon, and kitty buckle charm.

Chipboard covered in thick layer of Distress Rock Candy Crackle Paint Next put on a very thick layer of Distress Rock Candy Crackle Paint.  The thicker that you make the paint the larger that your cracks will be and the longer it will take to dry.  Just let this air dry as using a heat tool will only make the distress crackle paint blister.   Blistering this does kind of make a cool effect but this will not turn out the same if you use a heat tool.

Two hours latter

After about an hour I went to check on it and noticed that quit a bit had dripped off the sides of the chipboard and was sliding off the edge.   I then propped up the chipboard journal so that it was as flat as I could make it so that that Distress Rock Candy Crackle Paint would have a chance to dry and stop it from sliding off.  There was still some that dripped a bit more onto the craft sheet but I was not worried about it sticking to craft sheet.  I have yet to find anything that will permanently ruin my craft sheet.  I have it for almost 3 years.

Dry Distress Rock Candy Crackle Paint

I let this dry overnight (approx 9 – 10hrs)    Looked like broken glass to me.   I am not sure that it needed to dry that long but that’s about how long it took me to get back to it.   I thought this was pretty cool looking and seriously considered not adding any distress ink at all, but my curiosity got the better of me and I wanted color!

When you add the Distress Ink it will come out of the dabber area pretty quickly and sink into the cracks  and also start spreading out underneath.  If you put to much ink in an area you can lift some of it off with a paper towel or rag.   You can layer distress ink too.   I added colors light to dark.   My favorite colors in this turned out to be purple (Concord Grape Distress Ink) and also bluish turquoise (Broken China) Layering the colors will help give you new colors.  This is especially helpful if you do not have not that many distress stains.

Distress Ink Covered Rock Candy

You are going to want to let this part dry you can use a heat tool to at this point to help you.  I noticed that some of crackling was falling off or very loose.  So combat it from falling off I used a sponge paint brush to put a thin layer of Glossy Accents onto to the cover and let it dry.  The Glossy Accents gave the journal a shiny look and ‘locked’ in the color and also got rid of the sharp edges.   It also filled in the cracks and has prevented more of the crackling from falling off.

Edges Of Journal

I finished off the look of the  journal by adding my favorite color bow in silk ribbon and accented it will an old buckle from a pair of shoes that I had and loved.  I saved the buckles because I ‘knew’ I would want to use them for something some day.

distress rock candy crackle paint art journal

Hope you get a chance to play around and craft with Distress Rock Candy Crackle Paint.  Feel free to share some of your work with me.

Keep your paws crafting!

=^_^=

Leave a Reply

