Metro Parks Springfield Bog Prairie Trail

Spent a part of my afternoon at Springfiled Bog today.   I think this was my 10th, 11th, or 12 visit there this year.  This is one of my favorite trails because I really love wildflowers.   This place is just filled with them right now…and will be for quite some time yet this summer.

Coneflowers

Here is how the the prairie is looking today… full of Cornflowers and tall grasses

Wildflower located along the Prairie Trail at the Springfield Bog

Wildflower located along the Prairie Trail at the Springfield Bog

This is button bush plant.

The first time I was at this trail was sometime in 2011 … it has been nice to watch this place transform and it will continue to change over time as nature takes back over.  I have read on the Metro Parks Website that over 40 varieties of prairie plants have been used to help restore this to a prairie.

Tiger Swallow Tail Butterfly Beetle

It was nice to see so many butterflies flying around and also fun to catch a beetle on a little purple wildflower.  There were also lots of bees who were busy doing their pollination job and of course lots of lill nats and mosquitoes.
( I like this place so much that I often will gladly suffer though getting dive bombed by them and multiple bites just to take a few pretty pictures. )

All photos in this blog post were taken by me with my iphone4 and instagram.

Leave a Reply

