Stenciled Day 1: Inking and Masking

Used Hawaiian themed stencils of waves to make wind out of different colors.   Added stamped image of hot air balloon.

Used Hawaiian themed stencils of waves to make wind out of different colors. Added stamped image of hot air balloon.

It has been a while since I have posted on the blog and I am really excited that the busyness of the holidays are over and I have some time to do some crafting again.  I made this last night: it was inspired by a new workshop I am taking online with Online Card Classes called Stenciled.

To make this card I used a Hawaiian wave stencil as wind by using the stencil three times on a cream colored cardstock.  Each use of the stencil was with a different color of Distress Ink. ( Pumice Stone, Tumbled Glass, and Rusty Hinge) I then used Archival Ink in Jet black to stamp the greeting and also the hot air balloon.   The balloon is attached to the card using pop dots.  I distressed around the edges and added Rusty Hinge Distress Ink around the edges too.   Lastly I added a little sparkle with rhinestone circles and a little rhinestone heart.

I was really pleased with how the card turned out and I hope to be able to get a few more made and vary the colors used.

Here a few other creations from class.

Creative StencilingI am thinking of using this as a cover to a mini album. It was made using distress ink and a stencil with a leaf pattern.  After inking in one shade I flipped the pattern over and inked in a darker shade. I was not sure what I was going to get but was happy and surprised to get a butterfly.

Good Friend Stenciled Card

This cute purple card was made from using a stencil for the background and spraying ink over the stencil.  I used distress ink in a mini mister and I think I might have added to much water.  This caused the bleeding and the warpy lines.   I added some washi tape and a friend stamp as embellishments.

Happy ButterflyI think this might be my favorite project from the day. I Used a scrap piece of paper to make this…it was a test to see if I liked it but it turned out so great that I will eventually attach this to a card. I used a large butterfly stencil.  I heat embossed the butterfly, then added distress ink and blended the inks together.  I really like the sentiment on the stamp.  You can’t have  too much happy!

I turned this last project into a tag.   I really like the way the gradient looks in orange.  I used spiced marmalade distress ink and also a small amount of fired brick.  I stamped congratulations onto a plastic sheet.   I was not sure what was going to happen because I did not know what kind of plastic I was using.  The lettering in heat embossing looks really grungy.

Congradulations Stenciled Card

2 thoughts on “Stenciled Day 1: Inking and Masking

Leave a Reply

